奥克兰神庙的历史

奥克兰神庙坐落在美丽的奥克兰山丘上,被许多人视为海湾的灯塔。其他人将其称为东湾的皇冠上的明珠。从远处即可看到它的美丽。这座寺庙是希望的灯塔,是真理的标准,也是该地区居民的力量之源。

奥克兰圣殿由总统大卫·麦凯(David O. McKay)于1964年11月17日奉献。该庙宇是加利福尼亚州第二大庙宇(仅次于洛杉矶加利福尼亚庙宇),在全球排名第十三。该神庙目前在北加利福尼亚湾地区为后期圣徒服务。目前,全世界有超过200座寺庙正在运营,宣布或正在建造中。

早期定居者

奥克兰神庙的历史可以追溯到1840年代早期来到加利福尼亚的摩门教徒定居者。耶稣基督后期圣徒教会的第一批成员于1846年7月乘帆船抵达Yerba Buena(旧金山)。从纽约出发六个月的旅程中,有238名男女儿童从布鲁克林轮下船。这座城市位于南美底部的合恩角附近,一直到夏威夷,然后在典型的大雾夏日降落在Yerba Buena。

到达加利福尼亚后不久,定居者在加利福尼亚建立了第一家报纸,第一所学校,第一家图书馆和第一家银行。定居者为北加州基于农业,工业和商业的经济奠定了基础。从1848年开始,它们就成为了金矿工的重要商品,供应和服务来源,这些矿工是1848年1月在科洛马发现金矿后来到加利福尼亚的。

宁静的Yerba Buena村庄迅速转变为充满活力的旧金山。许多早期的移民来到海湾,在奥克兰,弗里蒙特和联合市以及中央山谷地区等东湾建立了住宅和农场。

预言与远见

在最近由布列汉姆·杨(Brigham Young)撰写的一封信中,这位先知刚刚带领教会成员从伊利诺伊州纳府(Nauvoo)逃往犹他州盐湖城,在那里建立教堂的总部,他预言:“随着时间的流逝, ,太平洋的海岸可能还没有从主殿中被忽视。”这是一个大胆的声明,因为他们刚刚开始在犹他州建造盐湖城神庙,耗时40年。

1924年,当时的教会使徒乔治·阿尔伯特·史密斯长老在一家可以俯瞰旧金山湾的酒店的屋顶露台上与当地的一位教会领袖一起探访。

根据乍得·霍金斯(Chad S. Hawkins)的书“第一百座神庙”,史密斯长老“停止说话,并朝着奥克兰上方的山丘凝视了几分钟”,然后再次与他的朋友W·艾尔德·麦克唐纳(W. Aird MacDonald)讲话。

耶稣教堂的未来主席说:“麦克唐纳弟兄,我几乎可以看到在那些山丘上高高耸立的白色主神庙,这是世界各地旅行者在通过金门大桥驶入这个奇妙港口时的标志。”后期圣徒基督。 “主的大白殿将在那些山上增光,这是万国的光荣榜样,以欢迎我们父亲的孩子们参观这座大城市时的到来。”

位置

在1930年代,由尤金·希尔顿(Eugene Hilton)主持的地方教会领袖委员会试图确定一块合适的土地来建造一座寺庙。该委员会考察了奥克兰地区的各个地方,但重点是奥克兰神庙现在所在的最初的14.5英亩土地。

教堂的主席戴维·麦凯(David O. McKay)在1942年访问了该遗址,并确认应在此处建造圣殿。他授权当地领导人购买土地。在接下来的许多年中,购买了最初的14.5英亩土地,并获得了额外的相邻地块,总计18.3英亩。

在这块新收购的土地上,第一批建筑是教堂,礼堂和一个大型文化大厅,称为Inter-Stake Center(ISC)。 ISC于1957年7月破土动工。该工程于1959年完成。

建造圣殿

此后不久,1960年12月,大卫·麦凯(David O. McKay)宣布了建造奥克兰圣殿的计划。那将是一个巨大的庙宇:95,000平方英尺。 O.莱斯利·斯通被选为委员会主席,负责监督圣殿的建造。 1962年5月26日,这座圣殿破土动工。奥克兰圣殿由建筑师Harold W. Burton设计。教会的当地成员为该建筑提供了资金和物资。

地方教会成员被要求为建筑项目筹集资金,并支付了40%的费用。 Sierra白色花岗岩在加利福尼亚州的雷蒙德(距奥克兰三个小时的车程)采石,用于铺面钢筋混凝土。

重达两吨的大面板描绘了基督在圣地和美国的事奉,装饰了圣殿的南北两面。这些35英尺长的雕刻面板是附加的挑战,因为艺术家要求不要在金属板上钻任何孔。

使障碍成为祈祷的问题,建筑师坐在女儿的小学生的后排,构想了一个吊索滑轮系统,该系统可以解决带子的依附问题。建筑师感谢上帝的慷慨解囊,他承诺在未来的项目中不要使用该过程来获得经济利益。

奥克兰神庙(Oakland Temple)于1964年9月27日竣工。该建筑在建筑结构和室内设计中都体现了许多亚洲风格的元素。

耶稣基督后期圣徒教会的教堂与成员开会进行礼拜的教堂不同。一座寺庙被认为是“耶和华的殿”,通过神圣的法令重申了基督的教义,这些法令将家庭团结在一起,直到永远。在内部,成员们更多地了解生活的目的,并立约服务耶稣基督并爱护我们的邻居。

打开房门

在1964年奉献精神之前,新建筑的神殿的公共开放日为期五周。开放日期间,近40万人参观了圣殿。

1964年的奉献精神

1964年夏末,大卫·麦凯(David O. McKay)遭受了严重的中风,损害了他走路和说话的能力。尽管如此,他还是希望参加奥克兰圣殿的奉献。尽管他的家人和医生有所保留,他们还是把轮椅上的先知带到了第一次奉献仪式上,该仪式于1964年11月17日在奥克兰圣殿的天室举行。当仪式即将开始时,大卫·麦凯(David O. McKay)令所有参加者感到惊讶的是,他奇迹般地从轮椅上站起来,走到讲台上,进行了有力而鼓舞人心的奉献祈祷:

“我们将它奉献给您,与之相关的一切,作为祈祷的殿堂,赞美的殿堂,敬拜的殿堂,灵感的殿堂以及与The的相交……”

“我们奉献圣殿立足和被圣殿包围的理由;在土壤中生长的步道,观赏床,树木,植物,花朵和灌木丛;愿他们绽放和开花,变得异常美丽和芬芳,愿你的灵住在其中,使这片土地可以成为圣洁冥想和思想启发的安息之所。 。 。 。

“上帝啊,因为即使是那些从地面经过或从远处眺望圣殿的人,也可以睁开双眼摆脱卑鄙的卑鄙生活,仰望The和你的天意。”

海湾信标

耶稣基督后期圣徒教会成员杰伊·皮门特尔(Jay Pimentel)表示:“奉献精神半个世纪以来,奥克兰加利福尼亚神庙一直是旧金山湾上的灯塔和精神灯塔。”阿拉米达市。

“我一直很珍惜这座寺庙,这是一个巨大的祝福,”曾担任加州圣利安卓(San Leandro)加州总统(Stake)主席的皮门特尔(Pimentel)说。 “这是山上的灯塔,许多山都在那里画着。”

人们被吸引,不仅是因为这个地方的美丽。来到神庙的地面时,您会感到某种感觉。”贝德纳长老说。 “因此,他们可能不知道那是什么,但他们当然喜欢它。这不仅仅是一幅美丽的图画。这个地方伴随着一种精神,那些非我们信仰的人受到了强烈的吸引。”

多年以来,这座寺庙有时会因较小的翻新工程而关闭。

在2019年重新投入

2018年2月,奥克兰神庙关闭以进行大规模翻新。该工作于2019年5月完成,当时奥克兰神庙再次开放三周以供公众参观,这是自1964年以来首次被邀请公众进入奥克兰神庙。

奥克斯总统说:“我为恢复奥克兰神庙所做的美丽而感到惊讶,” “在建筑质量,各个房间的所有装饰质量以及整体美感方面,这里是一座非凡的上议院。它非常奇妙,并且在修复过程中增加了非常美丽的原始艺术。”

耶稣基督后期圣徒教会第一任主席第一任顾问达林·奥克斯(Dallin H.Oaks)总统于2019年6月16日(星期日)分三届对奥克兰加利福尼亚圣殿进行了重新任命。

他的妻子克里斯汀·奥克斯姐妹也加入了奥克斯总统。十二使徒定额组的大卫·A·贝德纳长老和他的妻子苏珊·贝德纳修女;七十岁的总督兼教会加利福尼亚地区主席凯文·皮尔森长老,以及他的妻子朱恩·皮尔森修女。

1964年11月,贝德纳长老还以十二岁的男孩身份参加了奥克兰圣殿的奉献仪式。

奥克兰会议是教会首次以青年演讲者为主题的奉献和奉献。

作为重新奉献庆祝活动的一部分,来自整个海湾地区的近3,000名男女参加了6月16日奥克兰奥克兰圣殿重新奉献之夜的特别奉献活动。预期灵修会从晚上7点开始,一些年轻人在上午8:30开始排队。虔诚的人庆祝圣殿的重新奉献,并进一步了解耶稣基督。

庙山

奥克兰神庙和相关建筑物被称为神庙山。圣殿山包括奥克兰圣殿,利益相关中心(ISC),游客中心,家庭历史图书馆以及其他使用位于圣殿地面上建筑物的组织。

其他资源

History of Oakland Temple

Nestled in the beautiful Oakland Hills, the Oakland Temple is considered by many to be the Beacon of the Bay. Others refer to it as the Crown Jewel of the East Bay. Its beauty can be seen from miles away. The temple stands as a beacon of hope, a standard of truth, and a source of strength for residents in the area.

The Oakland Temple was dedicated on November 17, 1964 by President David O. McKay. The temple was the second in California (following the Los Angeles California Temple), and the 13th in the world. The temple currently serves Latter-day Saints in the Bay Area of Northern California. There are currently over 200 temples operating, announced or under construction throughout the world.

Early Settlers

The history of the Oakland Temple traces back to the early Mormon settlers who came to California in the 1840’s. The first group of members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints arrived by sailing ship in Yerba Buena (San Francisco) in July 1846. 238 women, men and children disembarked from the Ship Brooklyn following a six month journey from New York City, around Cape Horn at the bottom of South America, to Hawaii, then landing at Yerba Buena on a typical foggy summer day.

Soon after arriving in California, the settlers established the first newspaper, the first school, the first library and the first bank in California. The settlers laid the foundation for an economy based upon farming, industry and commerce in Northern California. Starting in 1848 they became an essential source of goods, supplies and services for gold miners who came to California following the discovery of gold at Coloma in January 1848.

The quiet village of Yerba Buena was quickly transformed into the vibrant city of San Francisco. Many of the early settlers came across the Bay to establish residences and farms in the East Bay, including Oakland, Fremont and Union City, as well as areas in the Central Valley.

Prophecy & Vision

In a letter written in 1847 by Brigham Young, the prophet who had just recently led an exodus of Church members from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah to establish the headquarters of the Church there, foresaw that: “In the process of time, the shores of the Pacific may yet be overlooked from the Temple of the Lord”. This was a bold statement as they had just begun construction of the Salt Lake City Temple in Utah, which took 40 years to complete.

In 1924, Elder George Albert Smith, then an Apostle of the Church, was visiting with a local church leader on the roof terrace of a hotel overlooking San Francisco Bay.

According to Chad S. Hawkins’ book, “The First 100 Temples,” Elder Smith “ceased talking and for several minutes gazed intently toward the hills above Oakland” before again speaking to his friend W. Aird MacDonald, Hawkins wrote.

“Brother MacDonald, I can almost see in vision a white temple of the Lord high upon those hills, an ensign to all the world travelers as they sail through the Golden Gate into this wonderful harbor,” said the future president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. “A great white temple of the Lord will grace those hills, a glorious ensign to the nations, to welcome our Father’s children as they visit this great city.”

Location

In the 1930s, a committee of local Church leaders chaired by Eugene Hilton sought to identify a suitable plot of land upon which to construct a temple. The committee looked at various places in the Oakland area, but focused on an initial 14.5 acre site where the Oakland Temple is now located.

The President of the Church, David O. McKay, visited the site in 1942 and confirmed that the temple should be built there. He authorized local leaders to purchase the land. Over the next many years, the initial 14.5 acre plot was purchased, and additional adjacent parcels were acquired, making a total of 18.3 acres.

The first buildings on the newly acquired land were a chapel, an auditorium and a large cultural hall, called the Inter-Stake Center (ISC). Groundbreaking for the ISC occurred in July 1957. It was completed in 1959.

Building the Temple

Soon after that, in December 1960, David O. McKay announced plans to construct the Oakland Temple. It would be a large temple: 95,000 square feet. O. Leslie Stone was picked to chair a committee to oversee construction of the Temple. Groundbreaking for the temple took place on May 26, 1962. The Oakland Temple was designed by architect Harold W. Burton. Local members of the Church helped supply funds and goods for the construction.

Local church members were called on to raise funding for the building project and contributed 40 percent of the costs. Quarried in Raymond, California (a three hour drive from Oakland), Sierra white granite was used to face reinforced concrete.

Large panels that weigh two tons depict Christ’s ministry in the Holy Land and America, decoratively adorn the temple’s North and South faces. These 35-foot sculpted panels were a challenge to attach because the artist requested that no metal drilled holes penetrate the friezes.

Making the obstacle a matter of prayer, the architect sat in the back of his daughter’s primary class and envisioned a sling pulley system that would solve the friezes’ attachment problem. Grateful for God’s tender mercy in providing the answer, the architect committed not to use the process for his financial gain in future projects.

The Oakland Temple was completed on September 27, 1964. The building has many Asian-inspired elements represented in the structure of the building along with the interior design.

Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints differ from chapels where members meet for Sunday worship. A temple is considered a “house of the Lord,” where Christ’s teachings are reaffirmed through sacred ordinances that unite families for eternity. Inside, members learn more about the purpose of life and make covenants to serve Jesus Christ and love our neighbors.

Open House

Prior to the dedication in 1964, public open houses of the newly constructed Temple were held over a five-week period. Almost 400,000 people toured the Temple during the open house.

Dedication in 1964

In late summer 1964 David O. McKay suffered a severe stroke that impaired his ability to walk and speak. Nevertheless, he desired to attend the dedication of the Oakland Temple. Despite reservations from his family and physician, they brought the Prophet in a wheelchair to the first dedicatory service, which was held in the celestial room of the Oakland Temple on November 17, 1964. As the service was about to begin, David O. McKay, to the surprise of everyone in attendance, miraculously rose from his wheelchair, walked to the podium, and gave a forceful and inspirational dedicatory prayer:

“We dedicate it unto Thee, with all pertaining thereto, as a house of prayer, a house of praise, a house of worship, a house of inspiration and communion with Thee….

“We dedicate the grounds upon which the temple stands, and by which it is surrounded; the walks, ornamental beds, the trees, plants, flowers, and shrubbery that grow in the soil; may they bloom and blossom and become exceedingly beautiful and fragrant, and may Thy Spirit dwell in the midst thereof, that this plot of ground may be a place of rest and peace for holy meditation and inspired thought. . . .

“Cause, O Lord, that even people who pass the grounds, or view the temple from afar, may lift their eyes from groveling things of sordid life and look up to Thee and Thy providence.”

Beacon to the Bay

“A half-century after its dedication, the Oakland California Temple continues to stand as a beacon and spiritual lighthouse over the San Francisco Bay,” said Jay Pimentel, a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints who lives in nearby Alameda City.

“I have always cherished this temple as a great blessing,” said Pimentel, who has served as president of the San Leandro California Stake. “It is a beacon on the hill, and many are drawn there.”

“People are drawn, not just to the beauty of this place. You feel something when you come onto the grounds of the temple,” Elder Bednar said. “And so, they may not know what that is, but they certainly like it. It’s more than just a beautiful picture. There’s a spirit that accompanies this place, and those who are not of our faith are drawn to that very strongly.”

Over the years, the temple has been closed at times for smaller renovation projects.

Rededication in 2019

In February 2018 the Oakland Temple closed for substantial renovation. That work was finished in May 2019 when the Oakland Temple was again open for three weeks for public tours, the first time the public has been invited inside the Oakland Temple since 1964.

“I’m astonished at the beauty of what has been done in the restoration of the Oakland Temple,” President Oaks said. “What is here is a remarkable house of the Lord in the quality of the architecture, in the quality of all the finishing of the various rooms and in the beauty overall. It is marvelous, and it’s accentuated by extraordinarily beautiful original art that has been added during the restoration.”

The Oakland California Temple, was rededicated Sunday, June 16, 2019 in three sessions by President Dallin H. Oaks, first counselor in the First Presidency of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

Joining President Oaks, were his wife, Sister Kristen Oaks; Elder David A. Bednar of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and his wife, Sister Susan Bednar; and Elder Kevin W. Pearson, a General Authority Seventy and president of the Church’s California Area, and his wife, Sister June Pearson.

Elder Bednar was also present at the original Oakland Temple’s dedication services in November 1964 as a twelve year old boy.

The Oakland sessions were among the Church’s first dedication and rededications to feature youth speakers.

As part of the rededication celebration, almost 3,000 young men and women from across the Bay area joined together for a special devotional the night before the June 16 rededication of the Oakland California Temple. Some youth began lining up at 8:30 am in anticipation of the devotional’s 7 pm start. The devotional celebrated the rededication of the temple and learning more about Jesus Christ.

Temple Hill

The Oakland Temple and associated buildings have become known as Temple Hill. Temple Hill includes the Oakland Temple, Inter-Stake Center (ISC), Visitors’ Center, Family History Library, and other organizations that use the building located on the temple grounds.

Additional Resources